University Council

Dr.The University Council advises and supports the university in all key issues and cultivates its profile as well as its performability and competitive capacity. Decisions made by the Senate on enacting or changing the constitution, the university's overall development plan or the quality assurance system must be approved by the University Council. It consists of ten members; five come from within the university and five from the fields of commerce, science and public life. The tenure of the Board of Governors is five years.

Members (tenure period 1 January 2014 - 31 December 2018)

Professor Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner

Professor Dr. Walter Kröll, Professor Dr. Beatrice Weder di Mauro

Waltraud Reinhardt, E-Mail, Tel +49 6131 39-22419

Members appointed by the Minister of Science and Health

  • Professor Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner, Member of the Shareholders' Committee, C.H. Boehringer Sohn AG & Co. KG
  • Professor Dr. Irene Dingel, Director of the Department of History of Occidental Religion at the Leibniz-Institute of European History
  • Professor Dr. Ursula Nelles, former rector of the University Münster
  • Dr. Thomas Bellut, Director of the Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen
  • Krista Sager, former Senator for Science and Research, former science spokeswoman of the Green fraction in the German Bundestag

Members elected by the Senate of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

  • Professor Dr. Marietta Horster, Faculty 07 - History and Cultural Studies
  • Professor Dr. Jürgen Gauß, Faculty 09 – Chemnistry, Pharmacy, Geography and Geosciences
  • Universitätsprofessor Sebastian Sternal, Mainz School of Music
  • Tabea Gandelheidt, Faculty 02 - Social Sciences, Media and Sports
  • Dr. Beate Hörr, Director of the Center for Continuing Academic Education